Geeska Afrika Online
World Food Programme

Ethiopia:BREAKING: World Food Programme wins the Nobel Peace Prize

BREAKING: World Food Programme wins the Nobel Peace Prize.. updates coming in

The winner will join an esteemed list of past laureates

Last year’s Nobel Peace Prize was won by Abiy Ahmed, the Ethiopian Prime Minister who helped end a long-running war between his country and neighboring Eritrea.

Before him, the coveted award has been claimed by a number of leading politicians, revolutionary figures and global organizations.

Four US Presidents have won the award; Woodrow Wilson, Theodore Roosevelt, Jimmy Carter and Barack Obama, who triumphed in 2009 for his “extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between peoples.”

They have been joined by a number of revolutionary leaders and leading political figures, including Nelson Mandela, Soviet President Mikhail Gorbachev and Polish dissident Lech Walesa.

International organizations are occasionally honored too; the United Nations won the award in 2001, and the European Union joined them in 2012.

Two years later, Pakistani activist Malala Yousafzai became the youngest winner of the award, aged just 17.






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share via
Copy link